Author Topic: Bonavita Electric Pourover Kettle: Traveling Road Show and Tell  (Read 27651 times)

BoldJava

Re: All Slots Taken: Electric Pourover Kettle, Traveling Road Show
« Reply #30 on: November 22, 2011, 06:09:20 PM »
I held back on the road show because I was told one of these would be heading my way shortly and this came to pass.  I will hold off on comments till the group gets rolling with it unless someone has a specific question - I am only 2 cups in so far so I am not an expert by any means.

Speak up.  The thread is for the board, not just those holding the tickets to the kettle.  Thanks, B|Java

BoldJava

« Reply #31 on: November 23, 2011, 02:51:07 AM »
The kettle hit the porch last night.  I will put it through its paces and present a '1st look,' and get it headed out west to Yakster.

B|Java

BoldJava

« Reply #32 on: November 27, 2011, 08:41:46 AM »
Bonavita Electric 1L Kettle: 1st look

Manufacturer:  Bonavita
Cost:  Electric, $49.99; Stovetop model, $29.99 - shipping $13.62
Model Reviewed:  Electric
Purchased at:  www.buzzkillerespresso.com, Chicago
Similar items owned:  Hario Buono V60, Paico Stovetop
Quality:  8
Usability:  7 (handle)
Cost vs value:  10
Aesthetics:  9
Overall:  10 (Cost vs value trumps all with this unit, particularly in comparison to Hario)

Pro:
1.  Heats 1 liter to boil in 6:05 minutes
2.  Superb pouring spout. 
3.  Attractive
4.  Cost
5.  Swivels nicely on the base, 360*
6.  Light in the hand - easy to control
7.  Heating element is recessed, below the metal base
8.  No plastic in contact with water - 100% SS

Con
1.  Handle is awkward
2.  Interior spout design - leaves water behind
3.  Max water level hidden inside
4.  Electrical base feels cheap

Observations:
  • The kettle arrived on the porch, right on schedule.  The "drop shipper" needs to move to a larger box.  One side really crinkled.  I have repacked it in a larger box.  No interior damage.