Author Topic: Bonavita Electric Pourover Kettle: Traveling Road Show and Tell  (Read 27661 times)

Offline rfeuker

• Standard User
  • Some problems only coffee can fix.
Re: Bonavita Electric Pourover Kettle: Traveling Road Show and Tell
« Reply #60 on: December 14, 2011, 09:23:33 AM »
Kettle was on the porch last night as promised, and I opened and used it right away.  My comparisons are to the Pino electric kettle I've been using for a few months.

1.  Appearance - right out of box the Bonavita is a winner here.  Its brushed metal look is very cool.  Advantage Bonavita.

2.  Material - the all metal construction of the Bonavita is also a clear advantage.  No plastic touches the water.  Pino has a plastic body.

3.  Capacity - 1 liter vs. 1.5 for the Pino.  Advantage Pino.

4.  Speed  - boiled a liter of water in both simultaneously.  Bonavita was marginally faster (maybe 20 seconds).  No advantage for either.

5.  Controls - the On/Off switch on the Bonavita is much more user friendly.  I usually have to use two hands to turn on the Pino.  One to hold the kettle (for stability) and one to push the switch.  Advantage Bonavita.

6.  Temp Stability - Pino keeps the water at the set temperature (more or less), Bonavita has no option to choose a temperature - it's boil or nothing.  Once it boils it shuts off. - Advantage Pino.

7.  Convenience - my major use for this kettle will be heating water for pour over coffee prep.  With its' long-necked spout and (relatively) small opening the Bonavita lends itself to this very nicely.  With the Pino, I need to transfer the heated water to a Hario kettle for pour over.  On the other hand, the Hario spout is better than Bonavita's.  Advantage Bonavita.