Author Topic: Behmor 1600 Plus Profiles and Roasts  (Read 13797 times)

Offline JoshFox Bread

• Standard User
Behmor 1600 Plus Profiles and Roasts
« on: September 01, 2017, 08:16:33 AM »
Still new to the site and a total novice at roasting.  I opted for the Behmor as my first roaster as it was suggested by a commercial roaster I know.  As I learn as much as I can online I see its shortcomings from a commercial setup but after doing about 40 roasts I'm pretty happy with the machine and have made some great cups.  I found the old thread that is 27 pages deep and relates mostly to the old Behmor and thought maybe an updated thread focusing on the Plus model, particularly manual roasting profiles.  Currently I'm still just learning the variations on the beans themselves along with flavor profiles from types, origins, and processing methods. 

I suppose I'll share my current process which is manual mode with a preheat to 260F on the B button.  Loading a 375g charge as quickly as possible and starting manual 1# setting and P5.  After a couple of minutes I'll up the drum speed until crack which seems to bring on first crack faster than with low drum speed.  I try and balance the oven around 300 on the B button with some toggling between P4 and P5.  Once first crack is near I'll let it go and as crack starts open the door for 15 seconds and drop to P3.  drop the drum speed and try and stretch out the first crack.   tricky thing here so far is each variety really behaves different.  some are loud and obvious, some quiet.  some seamless and some do end.  Many give early pops that should be disregarded until crack really sets in.  None the less that is the profile and I'll roast to City+ or FC on the first roast and then decide which way I want to go from there. 

Love to hear what others are doing.  Adjustments that can be made for types of beans.  Anything really. 

Cheers

Josh

Offline vnahmias

• Standard User
Re: Behmor 1600 Plus Profiles and Roasts