Author Topic: Best auto drip coffeemaker with more than 40 ounce capacity  (Read 12278 times)

Offline Ascholten

• Administrator
  • Artisian 6 and Behmor
Re: Best auto drip coffeemaker with more than 40 ounce capacity
« Reply #30 on: September 18, 2018, 02:34:39 PM »
Understood.
If it's a button those can be replaced,  if it's a t stat might be a little more difficult but doable.
start the new thread and I can try to help you there if you want.

Aaron
As I have grown older, I have learned that pleasing everybody is impossible, but pissing everybody off is a piece of cake!

Offline MGLloyd

• Standard User
« Reply #31 on: September 19, 2018, 01:19:00 PM »
I have been roasting my own beans since the 1990's, have a Pasquini Livia 90 and Rocky Rancilio for espresso, several presses and a Chemex for pour-over. For the workday mornings when we have to get out the door, I have been using a Capresso MT-500 which was on its last legs. I decided another auto drip was in order. I reviewed all the current high-end makers, but insisted on something with a thermal carafe, brewing temp of 200 degrees, pre-infusion, made more than 40 ounces of coffee and could brew with a push of a single button, since my wife does not like to fuss with the coffee maker.

My research led me to this machine: the Zojirushi EC-YTC-100 (https://www.zojirushi.com/app/product/ecytc). I also looked at the Technivorm, Brazen, Cuisinart, Capresso, Breville and Bonavita offerings. I have had the Zojirushi for a week now. So far, it has been excellent. I measure the temp in the carafe at 188 degrees and in the coffee ground bed at 200-202 degrees and the coffee tastes excellent. I brew using the 'time-saver' option and a full pot of 50 ounces takes about 9-10 minutes to brew. The coffee is extracted very well without undue bitterness. I generally roast to a 'full city' or 'medium' (10-15 seconds into second crack) level so I don't roast out all the varietal character from the coffee.