Author Topic: Ready to move up from a Fresh Roast SR500  (Read 3510 times)

Offline Greeps

• Standard User
Ready to move up from a Fresh Roast SR500
« on: September 14, 2018, 06:45:24 AM »
I'm looking for advice.

I'm not an expert so please bear with me.

I've used the Fresh Roast SR500 with good results.  What I do is run 3 six minute cycles per roast, heat settings of medium/low/low.  It is inefficient because the batch size is so small but the flavor of the coffee is great. I did a lot of experimentation with it before settling on this heat pattern. It reaches first crack at about 5-6 minutes, so about the end of the first cycle. I visited a local commercial roaster and spent the day with him. He taught me it takes time to develop the flavor. I like coffee to taste like coffee smells, with nice mouthfeel, and thick rich deep taste.

I run it outside, and set a timer for 5 minutes so I can reliably be there to reset the thing for the next 6 minute cycle.  I'm very happy with my roasts, it's just that roasting sessions take hours and just so many 6 minute interventions.  I can live with this roaster if necessary.

I'd like to move up to something that allows a larger batch size.  I would like to be able to set it for a first crack at about 6 minutes then a reduced temperature for 12 minutes.  I think I'd like to do 1/2 pound (225g) or thereabouts.  I'd like to take it outside so I don't stink up the house.

Is the Behmor 1600+ a good next step for me?  I'm not really price limited, is the Bullet a better choice?  Assuming I wheel it or take it outside, is an induction roaster less sensitive to ambient air temperature than the SR500?

I can supply 240V if necessary.  I have a gas grill so can go with propane but I'd rather use electricity because it is less cumbersome.

Has anyone modified the SR500 to get a longer cycle time?  I'm not above trying to control it with an Arduino but I'll need some help with the wiring to the existing control system.