Author Topic: New Poplite popper isn’t as hot as old one?  (Read 6111 times)

Offline newroaster

• Standard User
New Poplite popper isn’t as hot as old one?
« on: April 19, 2020, 09:36:20 AM »
I’ve been using Poplites for 12 years for my small batches. Eventually they crap out and I get another one exactly like the old one. But the new Poplite I just got doesn’t get as hot as the old one. It’s a bit smaller, fan seems a bit stronger and roast times are much longer.  I have always used a 50’ extension cord to increase roast times to 4 or 5 minutes. But the new popper roast times are 7+ minutes with extension cord. And if I don’t use the extension cord, which shortens the roast time, the new popper overheats and stops. The problem isn’t the longer roast time per se, it’s that long roasts cause coffee to bake instead of roast. Bake is bad.

I don’t want to take this apart and fiddle with it. But has anyone had similar problems?? Any better poppers out there?

Offline Ascholten

• Administrator
  • Artisian 6 and Behmor
Re: New Poplite popper isn’t as hot as old one?
« Reply #1 on: April 19, 2020, 09:54:29 AM »
The more correct fix would be to use a variac instead of an extension cord,but with that said, instead of a 50 foot try a 25 foot extension cord.  What's the wire gauge on the cord?  maybe go up a gauge, (well actually down, the numbers go down as the wire diameter gets bigger), so if you are on a 16 Ga cord, try one half the length or one that is 14 Ga. instead.

Aaron
As I have grown older, I have learned that pleasing everybody is impossible, but pissing everybody off is a piece of cake!

Offline newroaster

• Standard User
« Reply #2 on: April 20, 2020, 09:40:03 AM »
Hi Aaron,
Yes, I suppose that would split the difference a bit. With popper roast times, how long do you think is too long?

Offline Ascholten

• Administrator
  • Artisian 6 and Behmor
« Reply #3 on: April 20, 2020, 09:47:48 AM »