Author Topic: Espresso Machine, what should I look for  (Read 3032 times)

Offline Ascholten

• Administrator
  • Artisian 6 and Behmor
Espresso Machine, what should I look for
« on: June 24, 2009, 06:27:51 PM »
Hello everyone quick question here.... or... maybe not.

I am finally at a point where I can get an espresso machine.

Here are my criteria:

I don't want a piece of crap, yet I don't want to pay 9000 dollars for one either just for a 'name'.

I am NOT an expert, in fact would classify myself a dribbling novice at making real espresso's .

I also classify myself as one who likes to get the upper end of something and grow into it as I learn. rather than get a lower end and grow out of it and a year later spend the extra cash to get something better, which i should have got to begin with.

I am NOT cheap, I don't want to skimp a few dollars and not get something or lose quality over a few bucks to have it bite me later on. I want a good machine, yet it doesn't have to walk around the room and follow me to the loo... (aka the 9000 dollar too many bells and whistles with stuff one rarely would ever use machine)

I know this will probably end up in hot topics as everyone has their own dream machine and what they classify as important in an espresso machine, but Ill gladly take any and all suggestions, comments, and wisdom from those of you who have a clue... unlike me.....to guide me along on my purchase.

Oh and PS I already have a Jolly, a few Zass' and a Maestro so I do know about a good grinder.  The tamping now I understand is another 'art' i will need to learn to master....

Ok, letter rip.

and thank you in advance

Aaron
As I have grown older, I have learned that pleasing everybody is impossible, but pissing everybody off is a piece of cake!

Offline mp

• Standard User
  • Nothing like a nice shot!
Re: Espresso Machine, what should I look for
« Reply #1 on: June 24, 2009, 06:40:36 PM »