Author Topic: What kind of roaster do you suggest?  (Read 2943 times)

colorite

What kind of roaster do you suggest?
« on: December 16, 2015, 05:23:23 AM »
Good morning everyone,

I have been roasting coffee in my West Bend Poppery's for a couple years now. I am looking to get more involved with coffee roasting and the possibility of selling to individuals and retail once I learn the ins-and-outs of my new roaster. I am curious as to your thoughts on what roaster is big enough to start a small business with the growing the business using the same roaster. Ideally, I would like to stay under $7000.00 for this new roaster. I live in the US and am looking for a company that provides excellent customer support as well as the ability to get parts for the roaster quickly in case something were to happen to it. Any ideas on roasters would be greatly appreciated, thank you everyone for your thoughts.

Offline sea330

• Standard User
Re: What kind of roaster do you suggest?
« Reply #1 on: December 16, 2015, 09:11:59 AM »
I started out with a SC/TO coffee roaster and about a year later went to a a 2 Kilo used drum roaster. What I learned is a coffee roaster is not that mechanically complicated, even somebody with marginal mechanical aptitude will figure it out. The complicated part is roasting to get the most out of your beans. Be patient, find a good used roaster to start. I have been on the hunt for a good used 10 to 15 Kilo roaster for several months, eventually something will come up, I don't get in a hurry for anything.       

Offline jordanleaman

• Standard User
« Reply #2 on: January 06, 2016, 10:04:54 PM »