Author Topic: BMHG/Air Roaster to Drum Roaster Diedrich IR12  (Read 2316 times)

Offline dfluke

• Standard User
BMHG/Air Roaster to Drum Roaster Diedrich IR12
« on: April 04, 2016, 08:43:33 AM »
I'll post more later, but I landed a job with a local coffee company. We've known about each other for a while, and things just worked out for both of us.

A general question I have:
Is there a "go-to" or must read book/pdf/website etc. to grasp the concepts of drum roasting, or is it not much different?

I've been roasting for 4 years one pound at a time on my BM/HG setup. It has been great. Learned a lot when I started selling to family/friends and using roastlog to profile my roasts.
This company has an old Diedrich IR12. I have never roasted on a drum roaster. Had my first experience watching a roast last week. Pretty predictable I guess, but I'm going to be adding in profiling/thermocouples etc. as they are currently not doing anything with a computer. (Good ol pen and paper).

I suppose a lot of time on the roaster will help, but there is such a sea of information out there, I was hoping some of you veteran drum roasters could help out.
enjoy coffee on your own terms!

Offline peter

• The Warden - Now Retired
  • Retired Old Goats
  • Monkey Club Cupper
Re: BMHG/Air Roaster to Drum Roaster Diedrich IR12
« Reply #1 on: April 04, 2016, 08:50:45 AM »
Who, if anyone, is roasting on it now?

The main thing for me to is remember that I need to think ahead; whatever I want the beans to do in Xmin. has to be done ahead of time.
Quote of the Day; \"...yet you refuse to come to Me that you

jspain

« Reply #2 on: April 04, 2016, 09:15:01 AM »