Author Topic: Where to purchase the best Stir Crazy?  (Read 1725 times)

Tinman

Where to purchase the best Stir Crazy?
« on: October 21, 2013, 08:25:24 AM »
My 5 year old Behmor is shot. I'm wanting to go with a Stir Crazy this time. My first coffee roaster was an I-Roast, then I graduated to the Behmor.  The  Behmor coffee was never as fruity a the I-Roast. The Behmor was kept clean including the thermocouple area.  If I had the money I would probably purchase an Hot-Top but it's a little pricey.  Is the Stir Crazy my best option and where can I purchase one.

Thanks,

KIm

Offline headchange4u

• Standard User
  • Roaster: 4# RK Drum
Re: Where to purchase the best Stir Crazy?
« Reply #1 on: October 21, 2013, 12:19:04 PM »
I would start with your local Goodwill. I've seen a few there. Craig's List would be my next choice for finding a cheap unit.

Offline JRosen

• Standard User
« Reply #2 on: October 21, 2013, 01:26:59 PM »
I couldnt seem to find one on CL. Target sells it for $27 brand new. The big cost savings will be on the TO side.

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk - now Free

Offline Alan

• Standard User
« Reply #3 on: October 21, 2013, 01:30:55 PM »
The Stir Crazy is just the bottom part that stirs the beans. It has a heater but most people disconnect it. The Turbo Oven is what sits on top to provide convection heat. So you need both a Stir Crazy and a Turbo Oven as well as a spacer and a mod to replace the plastic stir rod assembly which will quickly melt

Stir Crazys can be found at Wally World. Turbo Ovens may be found at thrift stores or you can buy just the top from Sunpentown. I walked into Aldi and saw they had a turbo oven and picked one up for cheap which is what I'm using now. Have a Sunpentown TO waiting in the wings but these last a long time. Just hate to have one go down and not have an immediate replacement

Offline Alan

• Standard User
« Reply #4 on: October 21, 2013, 01:33:06 PM »