Author Topic: La Pavoni  (Read 2117 times)

Offline hobiwankinobi

• Standard User
La Pavoni
« on: May 15, 2009, 05:51:51 AM »
Look at what I found at the Goodwill the other day!!

I am wondering if anyone out there has any experience with one of these?

So far I have descaled it with a vinegar/water mix and that's all. At first the water temp never got above 180, now as I was flushing out the water/vinegar mixture the water temp reached 190-194. I have very little experience with espresso machines, but I thought the water temp needs to reach 195-205 like coffee correct?

I still have 5 days to return this item to Goodwill if necessary and reclaim my hard earned 16.04$

I found this guy here who seems to be a fan of this machine. http://www.pavoniexpress.com/

I read some of what other people have said in the past by doing a search on GCBC but was just wondering if anyone else has anything else to say about this machine?

Steve

garybt3

Re: La Pavoni
« Reply #1 on: May 15, 2009, 05:57:42 AM »
Steve,
if you ever decide to part with her, I call 1st dibs!

Seriously, check out Home Barista, you may want to restore her.

Great Find!  :headbang:

Gary

Offline hobiwankinobi

• Standard User
« Reply #2 on: May 15, 2009, 06:04:07 AM »
I did read a bit on that site, there seems to be a few people on there really committed to this machine. Maybe other levers too I am not too sure I only read a few threads on this one. Aren't thrift stores great? It looked like the site I linked to was another place/tool to help those less mechanically inclined like myself in the fixing of your machine.

Offline MMW

• Standard User
« Reply #3 on: May 15, 2009, 06:34:42 AM »
$14.99?  YGBSM! 

Nice find...if it proves to be too much for you to restore, send it my way and I'll give it a go.  Return shipping may be delayed for a bit though  :angel:
"During the early 19th century, most Americans subsisted on a diet of pork, whiskey, and coffee.  ----- Where did we go wrong?

Offline mp