Author Topic: Need advice for my bro'  (Read 973 times)

Offline nimbus

• Standard User
Need advice for my bro'
« on: February 22, 2009, 10:26:50 PM »
He lives in Thailand and asked me about this roaster:

"Hey, is this roaster worth $40 second hand?
http://www.breworganic.com/index.asp?PageAction=VIEWPROD&ProdID=760"

I know nothing about it. Thumbs up? Thumbs down? Sideways?

He's a total newbie, and I'm really not sure what is available there...(Chiang Mai)

Thanks for any feedback...

Nimbus
Dr. Nimbus Couzin
Associate Professor of Physics
Ivy Tech Community College
Bellarmine University

thejavaman

Re: Need advice for my bro'
« Reply #1 on: February 23, 2009, 04:38:58 AM »
I actually started roasting darn near 10 years ago with a Freshroast.  It's a decent little air roaster and it's good for a beginner.  I haven't used mine in a long time, but the issues I had with it were it's small batch size and it's tendancy to roast too quickly.  I know it has been upgraded since I bought mine (It's now call the Freshroast +8), but I think the main issues are still there.  I believe MP and BW both have and roast with these occasionally.  Check out THIS LINK for more information.

Offline mp

• Standard User
  • Nothing like a nice shot!
« Reply #2 on: February 23, 2009, 07:52:23 AM »
Indeed I do have one.  It certainly is not a Hottop but is a great roaster for the money.  The heat does start high and stays there until the beans are roasted.  For $40.00 IMHO he cannot go far wrong.

Hope that helps.

:)
1-Cnter, 2-Bean, 3-Skin, 4-Parchmnt, 5-Pect, 6-Pu
lp, 7-Ski

ButtWhiskers

« Reply #3 on: February 23, 2009, 10:27:01 AM »