Author Topic: hottop repair  (Read 1024 times)

Offline Nucer

• Standard User
  • about those grandkids.......
hottop repair
« on: March 26, 2014, 07:24:52 AM »
The old girl, the roaster not the wife, decided it was time for a new heater.  The heater actually got caught on the rotating basket and that was all she wrote.  So I contacted Hottopusa and order a new heater.  First I have never taken the hottop apart besides taking out the basket and cleaning the interior.  So I figured I would be in for a whole day of frustrating work.  I am a mechanical engineer by trade, or use to be before I become a mentor to the youngun's, but somehow easy jobs are never easy.

So the part arrived and I told the wife that while she was out I would have a go at the roaster.  Surprise, Surprise, the replacement was easy.  Oh there are a lot of screws to be removed but everything is easy to get to.  The site gives you instructions which I suppose you should read but being an engineer, instructions are for others and not me.  Even so I was finished in a short period of time   I think the whole thing took a little over an hour.  One reason for the long period of time was I actually cleaned the roaster too.  I was amazed at how much chaff was in there.  I mean it was everywhere.  I took some compressed air to it and thankfully I was outside.  I must have blown out that roaster for 5 minutes. I cleaned the fan, the metal siding and even the roasting chamber.  All that took at least 15 - 20 minutes.