Author Topic: Ideas for homemade roaster  (Read 1744 times)

Kstreet99

Ideas for homemade roaster
« on: August 23, 2015, 01:42:48 PM »
I've been using a Gene Cafe for a few months now and it's been doing really well for me, but I was curious as to how a homemade setup could work. I'm open to any ideas that could be out there, just let me know what options there are. I've got a barbecue and a wood-fired pizza oven that I could work with as well. I'd really like to explore some other ways to roast, so feel free to post anything!

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Offline peter

• The Warden - Now Retired
  • Retired Old Goats
  • Monkey Club Cupper
Re: Ideas for homemade roaster
« Reply #1 on: August 23, 2015, 04:22:53 PM »
I'm open to any ideas that could be out there, just let me know what options there are...  so feel free to post anything!

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

There's a ton of stuff, a literal ton, all over the internet, and on this forum too.
Quote of the Day; \"...yet you refuse to come to Me that you

Offline Batman

• Standard User
« Reply #2 on: August 25, 2015, 07:58:36 AM »
Tons of options and combinations it seems. 

Stating the obvious - I think most roasters (homemade or not) come down to just a few mechanical aspects:

Bean agitation (stirring, tumbling, other...)
Airflow (timing and control of)
Heat delivery (again - timing and control of)

There are many ways to accomplish the above with some designs performing better than others.

I'm a fan of the SC/TO builds (easy to build, nice even roasts), and am building a drum roaster for future use.

kzaenger

« Reply #3 on: August 25, 2015, 06:25:26 PM »