Author Topic: New home roaster design? Seen this app before? Thoughts?  (Read 1520 times)

Offline foreRB

• Standard User
New home roaster design? Seen this app before? Thoughts?
« on: May 03, 2009, 01:31:59 PM »
Hello,
 Thought I’d try posting and get some opinions on my new homemade roaster. Be gentle with me guys, I know it’s pretty primitive by most standards.  This may be something you have seen before or maybe not. So far the beta testing is promising. I have been roasting for a couple of years using a Ronco Showtime but it finally died. It worked, but was underpowered and I thought I could do better. As you probably can tell this is a modified Farberware vintage roaster with a second tub purchased on eBay to make the top half. Starting cold, I am getting first crack at about 12-14 minutes and I may be able to speed that up a little bit yet. I have yet to get a piece of sight glass cut to fill the top, currently I am just covering it up.  I don’t have a way yet to check bean or drum temp, but inside the roaster gets up to 600 degrees entering the second crack. I may add a Varic to help with the profile, but still don’t know if I would profit from it. A 14 oz. batch is the perfect size for me, and I can adjust the RPM’s from 20 to 75 with the speed controller. The gear motor is a 1/30 hp Dayton, probably overkill for this app. Any thoughts? Seen this before? Impressions of the roast time or chamber temps? Thanks for any advise you have…….Russell

Offline peter

• The Warden - Now Retired
  • Retired Old Goats
  • Monkey Club Cupper
Re: New home roaster design? Seen this app before? Thoughts?
« Reply #1 on: May 03, 2009, 01:37:49 PM »
Russell,

Don't worry about being primitive.  In homeroasting, that never counts against you.

With the open end cone, you should be able to rig up a long thermo probe if you choose to.

Some blankets of insulation would help too, I'd think.